Free! – Eternal Summer Swim Workout

July 3, 2014

To celebrate the season two start of Free!, I thought I would post a beginners swim workout!

Now I’m not usually one to watch sports anime, but I’m glad I was introduced to this one last year. It’s a great team-spirit show that kind of takes the piss out of your typical sports-themed anime.

I mean…seriously:

funny

Swimming offers great low-impact fitness, which is extra perfect for people with injuries. It’s both cardiovascular and strength building, thanks to the resistant nature of water (being twelve times as dense as air).

Swimming cuts back unwanted fat, tones muscle, builds strength, and gives a stress alleviating all-over body workout.

Healthy weight, healthy heart, healthy lungs…sounds good to me!

So without further ado, I present the:

I Only Swim Free Workout

Notes:
-ALWAYS do the warm up and cool down.
-25M = 1 Length of a standard pool. A lap would be 2 lengths (there and back again).
-Suggested, but Optional Equipment: Pull Buoy, Kickboard

equipment

Warm Up

4 x 25M SLOW, easy going lengths.
Go as slow as you need to. Your aim is to get your blood flowing and muscles ready to rock!
Rest 2 minutes. If you can, exit the pool and complete these simple swimmer stretches with minimal resistance:

Static-Stretches

Main Set

2 x 25M Moderately paced lengths.
Freestyle swim! Use both arms and legs to work the entire body.
Rest 1 minute.

2 x 25M Moderately paced lengths with pull buoy.
Place the pull buoy between your thighs or ankles to provide support to the body without kicking your legs; this allows you to focus on training only your arms and developing both endurance and upper body strength.
Rest 1 minute.

2 x 25M Moderately paced lengths with kickboard.
Holding the kickboard from the top (not the sides) will let you focus on your kick without the use of arms. Remember to always have a tight core and kick from your hips, not your knees.
Rest 1 minute.

Cool Down

2 x 25M SLOW, easy going lengths. When you exit the pool, repeat the same stretches from the chart in the warm up section.

CONGRATULATIONS! You’ve completed the I Only Swim Free workout!

This plan is based on Speedo’s recommended beginner swimming program. When I lived in Florida I swam all the time and used this as a basis.

I thought a Speedo lesson would be appropriate!

speedo

I never had a pull buoy or a kickboard when I swam, but that didn’t stop me from completing the no legs/no arms sections. I would recommend the equipment though because it makes it easier to focus on your technique.

Also, just because this is a beginner workout, don’t worry about completing it all the first time around. If you find you are too tired before then end, write down what you completed and then try to surpass that record the next time around! As a fitness golden rule, ALWAYS do the warm up and cool down, even if you don’t complete the main sets.

Like any sport, this is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to methods. I hope you enjoy it and I encourage you to check out your local pool/swim clubs for more information. ❤

Ta for now! I can’t wait until summer hits Australia because there are some wicked outdoor pools/beaches here. :3

To Be Continued

Leave a Reply

