Look, Ma! A costume!

December 31, 2011

Hello!

Just a quick (who am I kidding?) update to wish everyone a healthy and prosperous New Year! I will have a new interview up in a few days so until then…enjoy a small look into my first cosplay experience!

I’m always a strong believer that you should never lose weight/get in shape specifically for a cosplay. When I hear people talk about crash dieting to fit an outfit I cringe ever so slightly. Of course we all want to look good in whatever we wear, but if you instead set your fitness goals to long term then you’ll find yourself perpetually in shape and less stressed about things like your figure.

Long term fitness goals = creating better habits = ability to maintain good health and fitness without the rollercoaster of crash dieting! (DID I BLIND YOU WITH MY SCIENCE?!)

Case in point: Get in shape to feel confident in ANYTHING you wear ANYTIME. Get in shape to feel in control of your health and body so that, when the time comes, you can replace “worried about what others think of my looks” with “I don’t care about what they think because I’m in control.”

Now granted, I’m not really a cosplayer. I had a favorite character with a ridiculous outfit and I went “hey…that’s a challenge. I’m going to make it happen.” My goal was to ace the costume but not stress over it with time constraints or an ideal body image. I decided to cosplay before I was anywhere near the fitness level I am now and as I worked on my costume I also worked on my fitness habits. Both were crafted over time with patience and care.

If you or your costume aren’t ready for a specific con, don’t sweat it. You have your whole life to flaunt what your mama gave ya.

My fitness goals were for overall and long term health benefits and the shape I happened to be in for the costume was an unexpected bonus from all my hard work. I kept telling myself “girl, even if it takes you ten years to get fit, you’re on your way. Getting to wear this costume will be a prize, not an obligation.”

That being said, you can bet your bottom dollar that all my core exercises did, in fact, work to my advantage with this particular get-up.

The character is Emporio Ivankov from One Piece. He’s the king of drag queens (a.k.a Okama King). There are many, MANY things to like about this character but two specific ones are:

A)     His ability to find humor in tough situations.

B)      His ability to change genders.

Which gender did I cosplay as? WHO KNOWS.

(Click on a picture to open the gallery!) Images captured by my con partner in crime over at Nerd Yoga. ❤

I had A BLAST cosplaying Ivankov. It’s not every day you get to wear a gigantic blue afro and fishnet cape…all in all it was a wonderful experience and I look forward to the next time I can wear it!

 

Leave a Reply

