EXPCon: CHECK

October 27, 2011

Hey guys! I taught an anime aerobics class this weekend at EXPCon and it was AMAZING. Here’s a picture of the beautiful individuals who attended (click for bigger view).

(Yeah I’m the dork in the rainbow socks, giving away free passes to the gun show.)

It brought me absolute joy to see everyone dressed up, and in some cases in-character, for the entire class. EXPCon was super fun and I really hope to make it back there next year. If you’ve never been, then go. That’s an order. ❤

Every time I go to a convention I always meet the most amazing people. I find them there, hidden amongst the crowd like coins in a birthday cake. People who share similar stories when it comes to changing their lives for the better, all the while maintaining a passion for anime and videogames. Since this list of people keeps growing I’ve decided to start highlighting some of their stories. I’m currently working on the interviews right now but I’ll give you a little demo using myself as the victim…I mean, subject…I mean…awesome person.

FANDOM FITNESS FEATURE!

Name: Covert Fangirl (a.k.a. Kat)

Favourite Anime: One Piece

Favourite Video Game: Okami

Weapon of Choice: The Force

Limit Break: Table Flip

Before & After

(OK so I’m a little embarrassed to share this…but here goes nothing. FOR THE HORDE)

SHUT THE FRONT DOOR

(Click on the picture to get a better view.)

I’ve actually toned up quite a bit since that June picture, but I’m too lazy right now to take another shot. The total amount of weight lost between the December and June pictures was 30 pounds. Since taking that June picture I have been able to keep the weight off for 4 months and counting. ❤

Ok, so tell us a little bit about yourself:

Long story short, I’m a theater technician and overall geeky individual. I love bishonen, fluffy romance and epic music (which probably explains why Ouran High School Host Club is on my top ten list). I also enjoy sci-fi machinery, large/chaotic explosions and serious ass-kickage (as long as it’s tasteful).

I’m also the author of this blog. [FIST PUMP]

What got you on the health and fitness train?

I go into detail about my lifestyle change in a previous post so I’ll keep this one short. The simple answer would be that instead of sitting on the couch and daydreaming about all the amazing characters and adventures found in anime/videogames, I decided to get out there and do something with my life.

One of my dreams was to teach anime-themed aerobics at conventions and the path I took to fulfill this dream went hand-in-hand with a healthy and active lifestyle.

What has been the hardest part of your journey so far and how did you deal with it?

Being able to keep my chin up when I hit a fitness plateau (essentially, when my body has become too accustomed to my fitness routine). The first part of dealing with my fitness plateau is to recognise that I’m in one. The next step depends on how I’m feeling but I generally try to introduce new elements to my routine such as different workout styles and new recipes for my meals.

There are many great articles online that break down fitness plateaus and offer tips and tricks to overcome them. Here’s a pretty good example: http://exercise.about.com/cs/weightloss/a/weightplateaus.htm

What was the most important element of your change?

Definitely cleaning up my eating habits. One should never underestimate the power of fruits and veggies.

What are you presently working on to level up your fitness?

Besides a constant effort to maintain my current weight, I’m also working on my overall water intake. It’s the liquid of life and I’m totally not drinking enough of it. My efforts so far include the purchase of a large water bottle and slowly but steadily building up the habit of consuming more.

Any advice for your fellow fitness fans?

Whatever your quest in life is, take steps! When I decided to get fit my first step was to work out for one hour, twice a week. That might not seem like a lot to you but a) it was better than nothing and b) after a couple of weeks I was ready and willing to increase my time. If I had plunged headfirst into an intensive workout regimen I probably would have given up before seeing any results.

Speaking of results, mine weren’t instantaneous…they sort of snuck up on me and went “BAM, LOOK AT DEM MUSCLES GRRRRRL.” (Yes…that is what my fitness persona sounds like…)

Being healthy isn’t just about your appearance. Your body is a whole complex universe of things that start working better the instant you increase your fitness level, so don’t give up just because your outsides don’t show results right away!

Ok, now say something random to finish this off!

Is the camera on?

2 Responses to “EXPCon: CHECK”

  1. Raymond said

    ummm…. this is raymond i was the panda all the way on the right with the stalkings and i wanted you to send me your playlist for your anime airobics i loved it and i loved your songs please contact me at fallingfalling@ymail.com and 561-584-2033

  2. Hi Raymond! Thanks for coming to the class. You guys were super fun. 🙂
    I sent you an email with the playlist.
    Is it ymail or gmail? (I ask only because I’ve never heard of ymail.)

Leave a Reply

